

FACULTY OF SOCIAL AND BEHAVIOURAL SCIENCES

Fourth International Conference on

The (Non)Expression of Emotions in Health and Disease



Tilburg, The Netherlands, 22 - 24 October 2007

www.tilburguniversity.nl/faculties/fsw/emotions2007

Encouraged by the many enthusiastic reactions to our three preceding conferences in 1996, 1999, and 2003 we are pleased to announce the forthcoming fourth international conference on 'The (Non)Expression of Emotions in Health and Disease'.

Similar as the foregoing conferences, this three-day-conference again aims to offer a broad scope of topics related to the way people express their feelings and factors inhibiting the display of emotions. In addition, the psychological and physiological effects of expression and inhibition will be critically evaluated. The conference is of interest for behavioral scientists involved in fundamental research as well as for professionals active in clinical settings.

The emphasis will be on research relevant for clinical practice and on applications in health psychology, behavioral medicine, psychiatry, and psychosomatics. The program will include plenary sessions featuring international experts in the field, workshops, symposia and poster sessions.

Keynote speakers and themes

Frans de Waal – Emotions and empathy in primates
Rien van IJzendoorn – Attachment and emotions
Barbara Fredrickson – Positive emotions
Richard Davidson – Brain and emotions
Lynn Myers – Repressive coping

Invited workshops will be held by

James W. Pennebaker – The writing paradigm
R. Michael Bagby – The assessment of alexithymia

For further information and deadlines for the submission of abstracts and symposium proposals, visit our website:

Emotions2007@tilburguniversity.nl

or write or fax us:

Emotions2007@uvt.nl
Antonie Bors
Department of Psychology
Tilburg University,
P.O. Box 90153,
5000 LE Tilburg,
The Netherlands

Tel: +31-13-466 2952 Fax: +31-13-466 2053

We look forward to meeting you and your colleagues in Tilburg in the fall of 2007!

The organizing committee,

Johan Denollet Yori Gidron Ivan Nyklíček Ad Vingerhoets